I DON’T CARE: THE FUTURE IS UNKNOWN: THE BIRTH OF A BUSINESS

Hey everybody, Happy 2015! The holidays have definitely derailed me from my writing recently, but the even bigger culprit is my new business venture. After realizing due to my Vocal Cord issues that I can’t hold a job that requires having full use of my voice at all times, I had to think quick on my feet. I’ve had to put all of my energy into RIGHT NOW!

Many of you may already know that I’m starting a clothing line. If you don’t know how that came about, I’d love to share that with you. I was cleaning my closets (which I frequently have to do because they are out of hand full), and I was looking for absolutely anything I could sell now that I’m not working. I had an old white jacket that was a little too small and worn out, and I knew I couldn’t sell it, so I set it aside because I had an idea to write “I DON’T CARE” all over it and punk-it-out, one-of-a-kind. Finally one night when I was bored, stuck at home unable to talk, I brought the idea to life. I posted a photo on Facebook and people liked it and a friend said it would sell for a lot in Japan. (I was intrigued but wouldn’t sell it because I did it for me. “I don’t care” was my way of not letting everything get to me, when all these external factors that are out of my control like not being able to talk and work seemed so overwhelming.)

I had one other black jacket that was a bit worn and I knew wouldn’t sell either, so I decided to do something with that. (Sitting home unable to talk made me feel a need to have a voice another way to express myself, and having a creative outlet while feeling stuck has been a godsend.) I made the second one say “THE FUTURE IS UNKNOWN,” because I literally have no idea what is going to happen with my voice issue, work, etc. I posted it on Facebook, and the owner of West Coast Leather (who I’ve known for years) said “I can sell that in my store.” Another friend said I could have her old jackets and that she would pay me to do something for her. The response was immediate. I told my friends about it at Thanksgiving and they all tried to convince me to start a clothing line. I thought it was crazy, and that I didn’t want to sell my art, but I started to think more about it the next day, since they all thought I should.

Then holiday parties and various events kept coming up, and I decided to start wearing the jackets out. I wanted to explore this in the real world and not just on Facebook. Everyone seemed interested. I wore one to the West Coast Leather holiday party, and the owner and I talked about it in person. I immediately realized I had to get going on it. In only a month, I’ve made about 15 jackets, thought of a business name and what I wanted my logo to look like, researched various business aspects, had the logo designed, photographed my work, bought a url and created a website and Facebook page. I’ve also learned a lot about exactly how to best do each jacket, and what started out as ‘winging it’ has become a lot more organized and second nature.

Last night, my graphic designer friend and I finalized the garment tag design, tweaked the logos and I ordered business cards. Today I’m ordering the embroidered garment tags and I should have them in 2 weeks. As soon as they arrive and I sew them into my jackets, I’ll be ready to take them out into the world and can sell them in the store… but first, I will be throwing a launch trunk show party, which I have already conceptualized and put a few parts of it in motion. I’ll be planning the launch party next, while simultaneously making as many jackets as I can before the tags arrive. I want to show all my work at the party before I sell anything, so for those who are able to come to the launch party, it will be the only time you can see all my work in person in one location. After the launch party, it will be for sale in the store and online. I’m hoping to get international interest.

All that said, January will definitely be a very busy month!

When life hands me lemons, I make fancy lemonade! Punk Majesty is happening in 2015! Please check out my website (with more photos) and Like my Facebook page, and when I announce that they are finally for sale, please share that with your friends. I can use all the support I can get! I have no idea what my future holds! I do know I have an appointment with a throat doctor on January 26, and that day can’t come soon enough. In the meantime, I’m working hard in the hope that I can make something great out of a challenging situation.

Thanks for reading and supporting my creative endeavors. It really means a lot and helps me feel like I’m not in this all alone, even though I have to spend the majority of my time that way.

P.S. I am available for Custom Orders!

Leave a Reply

